Rays Release Postseason Roster | The Process Report

Rays Release Postseason Roster

The Rays have announced their roster for tonight’s Wild Card Game.

Because teams can reset their roster before the Divisional Round, the Rays are carrying just nine pitchers tonight, including three who normally start (Alex Cobb, Matt Moore, and Chris Archer). Additionally, the Rays are bringing their six best relievers: Fernando Rodney, Joel Peralta, Jake McGee, Alex Torres, Jamey Wright, and Wesley Wright.

On the position-player side, the biggest surprise is the club’s decision to use three spots on catchers, with Chris Gimenez serving as the emergency option. The Rays are carrying their normal starting infielders, and nine players listed as outfielders or designated hitters; a total which includes Delmon Young but not Luke Scott. The newest name on the list is Kevin Kiermaier, who apparently has enough cachet in the organization to displace Freddy Guzman as a backup outfielder slash pinch runner.

Should the Rays advance, they’ll have until 10 AM Friday to reset their roster. Although that version would need to include at least one more pitcher.

Full roster


Pitchers (9)

Archer, Chris

Cobb, Alex

McGee, Jake

Moore, Matt

Peralta, Joel

Rodney, Fernando

Torres, Alex

Wright, Jamey

Wright, Wesley


Catchers (3)

Gimenez, Chris

Lobaton, Jose

Molina, Jose


Infielders (4)

Escobar, Yunel

Loney, James

Longoria, Evan

Zobrist, Ben


Outfielders (8)

DeJesus, David

Fuld, Sam

Jennings, Desmond

Johnson, Kelly

Joyce, Matt

Kiermaier, Kevin

Myers, Wil

Rodriguez, Sean


Designated hitter (1)

Young, Delmon

Leave a Reply

#layout { padding-left:20px; }